Back to top

Earth’s Surface

earths layers

The earth is made up of four main layers

Earth's Layers

The Earth is made up of four main layers:

  1. Crust – This is the outer layer of the earth and where we live. It is very thin in comparison to the other layers and is between 0-70km thick.
  2. Mantle – This is the layer below the crust. It is made up of molten or semi molten rock. This layer is 3,000 km thick.
  3. Outer core - This layer is liquid and is 2,000 km thick. It is super hot
  4. Inner core – This is the centre of the earth and just like the outer core it is super hot, but solid not liquid.

The crust and the upper part of the mantle is called the lithosphere. It is rather like a jigsaw puzzle and is made up of large pieces called tectonic plates.

Getting in touch

East Coast Lab
159 Dalton Street, Private Bag 6006 Napier, 4142
P: 06 835 9200

Site Map

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the East Coast Life at the Boundary to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, East Coast Life at the Boundary shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. East Coast Life at the Boundary cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© East Coast Life at the Boundary - / 06 835 9200 /